Whole 30 – Day 3

by ambermae

My husband and I both successfully navigated the world of eating out for lunch today. Go us!

Breakfast:

Day 3 breakfast

Same old leftover egg scramble. I’m starting to get bored with it. Good thing I only have enough left for one more day.

Lunch was split into two parts. Lunch part 1:

Day 3 lunch part 1

A beef kebab, fruit salad, and fattoush from Neomonde. I just learned from that Wikipedia link that fattoush is supposed to be made with bread, but this salad wasn’t. Is it misnamed?

(My husband had pulled pork bbq, slaw, collards, and pork rinds.)

Because my lunch was kind of small I supplemented with lunch #2:

Day 3 lunch part 2

A little back story: last night before I went out at my book group meeting I prepared a simple dinner for my husband to eat when he got home from work. I figure if he’s being forbearing enough to do this crazy food thing with me then the least I could do is set him up for success on day 2. I baked a sweet potato and prepared a simple meat sauce with ground beef, a jar of pasta sauce, and some added herbs and spices. It looked so yummy when I got home last night that I whipped up another batch of the sauce and ate it for second lunch today.

In the afternoon I snacked on some almonds.

Dinner:

Day 3 dinner

I was a few bites into this one before I remembered to take a picture. We had pork chops, sauteed onions, kale, and roasted broccoli (which I slathered in ghee). Then we split an orange. Many thanks to my husband for cooking so I could crash after work!

