2012 Week by Week

Whole 30 – Day 28

Day 28! I have to say that the temptation to round up is strong in our house right now. But we’re going to stay the course.

Lunch:

Day 28 lunch

When we came home from church we boiled up the last 4 hot dogs and fixed a quick salad. Boiling the hot dogs significantly helped the saltiness problem.

The afternoon was really busy. After grocery shopping we ran a few errands, and we quickly realized that if we didn’t eat (and soon) we would probably not make it out of the mall. Our problem may have been trying to go to the mall in the first place, but I digress.

So instead of eating the delicious steak dinner I had planned, we ended up at a not very noteworthy Mexican place for a quick meal.

Dinner:

Day 28 dinner

Imagine our surprise, then when I found this on the menu:

Parillada Mixta – For serious meat lovers!!! Grilled meat platter made with shrimp, chicken, and premium steak alongside grilled mild and spicy sausages, grilled onion and jalapeno pepper.

We asked them to hold the rice, beans, and tortillas and ordered a guacamole salad instead and split everything. It was incredible.

Snack:

Day 28 snack

I’m in the middle of making our lunches for the week, so I had an apple and the rest of the deli turkey to fortify me til bedtime.

Week #21: Hike on the Appalachian Trail

With the end of the Whole 30 it is time to get back to my weekly goals. This week I am so excited to let you know that my husband and I plan to spend a day on the Appalachian Trail while we’re on vacation. It is a huge dream of mine to through hike the AT one day so just getting to spend a few hours on it is going to be amazing. I’ll take pictures and let you know how it went next week.

Menu week #21

This week we will finish the Whole 30 (yay!), have two normalish days, and then head out of town for our anniversary and my birthday. We are going to indulge and love every moment of it (hopefully), and we’ll figure out what our new normal needs to be next week.

Saturday – hamburgers, guacamole, lettuce, tomato
Sunday – out
Monday –  steak, green beans, salad
Tuesday –  chicken taco salads
Wednesday –  garlic rosemary wings, sweet potato fries
Thursday – out
Friday – out

Breakfasts will be mostly sweet potato latkes and yogurt with berries. Lunches will be mostly Mel’s chocolate chili.