Whole 30 #2: Day 2

by ambermae

Breakfast:

Day 2 breakfast

Delicious chicken soup in bone broth. It is a mystery to me how the meat in this soup can be so old (leftovers from chicken thighs I roasted a couple of weeks ago) and yet not be going bad now that they’re soup. Soup is magic.

Lunch:

Day 2 lunch

It can be tricky to get fish meals in for those of us who need to do that on Fridays, especially at lunchtime. My husband’s standby is always a tuna sandwich. This time around I have access to Nom Nom Paleo’s iPad app and her great recipe for spicy tuna cakes. They were great, though I think we each could have eaten more of them. I snacked on deli turkey later in the afternoon.

Dinner:

Day 2 dinner

This was a tasty and immensely satisfying dinner. It was Indian Spiced Baked Salmon (make this at your earliest convenience), a simple salad with fig vinaigrette, and chopped cucumbers. So yummy.

A note about the salmon: I used red curry paste (because I’m at a point in my life when I happen to have red curry paste in my fridge) instead of chili powder, garlic powder instead of fresh, olive oil instead of vegetable oil, and I left out the cilantro — but this spice rub still came out perfectly. Leave the salmon in your oven longer than the recipe recommends if that’s what it takes to get it good and brown on top. The spices would also be good on chicken breasts.

Late at night I had a Jeni’s ice cream indiscretion and I don’t regret it for a minute. Thanks Laurie!

