Whole 30 2013 – Day 5

by ambermae

Today was tough. I wasn’t as prepared as I should have been for a Friday on the Whole 30. As a result I spent most of the day hungry and feeling sorry for myself. Looking forward to grocery shopping tomorrow!

Breakfast:

d5b

I couldn’t decide what to make for breakfast, so I didn’t make anything until lunchtime. I scrambled some eggs with last night’s leftover veggies. There was a toddler on my lap for half of lunch so I forgot to take a photo until I was almost done. Sorry.

Lunch:

d5l

This meal was the result of many minutes of stalking around the kitchen wishing there was something easy I could eat. I ended up cooking some of yesterday’s roast chicken in a little bit of salsa and eating it all over an old baked potato that was still kicking around in my fridge.

Snack:

d5s1

The toddler asked for banana ice cream again and I am powerless to resist her (when she makes reasonable demands). We also had some guests over, the youngest of whom was furiously signing that he wanted food. I added a bit too much salt to it today and it ended up tasting just like salted caramel. How can banana, which is usually kind of vile, be so versatile and tasty?

Dinner:

d5d

This is the dinner my husband made that saved us from going to Chipotle. He put this together while I was sacked out on the couch after a long day of dancing with the toddler.

Snack:

d5s2

One day I hope to not have this after dinner snack, but the hungries have kicked in in a major way and I feel like I need to eat all the time. This is a bowl of dates, walnuts, coconut, and cocoa powder. It is one of my favorite snacks, but a bit too much of an indulgence on the Whole 30.

