Whole 30 2013 – Day 1

by ambermae

I stepped on the scale this morning to find myself weighing 18 pounds more than I did at the completion of my last Whole 30. This wasn’t actually surprising. Since the end of August we bought a house, moved, (not in that order) and celebrated two major holidays plus a birthday. I had already gained 10 pounds before the holidays, but it wasn’t until the past couple of weeks that I started feeling really crummy (and eating Hershey bars for lunch).

That said, here is what day 1 of my 2013 Whole 30 looked like:

d1b

 

For breakfast I made a quick pancake using the mashed banana and an egg method. I added some cocoa powder to subdue the banana flavor and topped it with almond butter. On the side I tossed some mashed butternut squash into the ghee I’d used to fry the pancake and added some cinnamon. Delicious.

Lunch:

d1l

My original plan had been to eat the leftovers from last night’s dinner for lunch, but I ended up not cooking last night. Instead I used some of the ingredients for tonight’s dinner and whipped up a quick beef curry with green beans and baby greens.

Snack:

d1s1

The toddler and I shared both a clementine and a carrot.

d1s2

Dinner:

d1d

I tweaked this Keema recipe to be Whole 30 compliant. Instead of yogurt I used coconut milk, and instead of potatoes I used carrots. I served it on a bed of baby greens. It was pretty tasty and made a ton of food.